Dark Spring

Song cycle: The Flower On The Mountainside; The Spirit; Scissors, Don’t Cut Away; You Know This.

2011 | tenor/piano.

Four songs, setting Motets I, XVI, XI and XVIII by Eugenio Montale (1896 – 1981), in translation by Dana Gioia (b.1950).

Composed for the British tenor Chris Elliott and the Fondazione Spinola in Genoa, Italy, in honor of Dana Gioia’s 60th birthday.

Premiere recording on the Acis release Are Women People? The Songs of Lori Laitman with tenor Kyle Knapp and pianist Andrew Rosenblum.